CCM | COI | IACUC | INVO | IRB | OECC | ORC | ORD | ORFA | ORI | ORIT | ORS | OSR | URCA

Northwestern Office for Research


Veterinary Services

Service Charges

FY2017 CCM Service Charges

FY2018 CCM Service Charges

Surgical Suite Scheduling using the VEMS system

Required Training:
Labs wishing to reserve equipment and schedule access using this system must first complete training on the VEMS system. To request training, please fill out the CCM VEMS Information Worksheet and forward your completed form to Julie Bratley at (julie.bratley@northwestern.edu).

Surgical suite scheduling is available via FSM's Virtual EMS

Cell Line / Serum Product Testing

For more information - or if you have questions, please contact Haley Montes, haley.montes@northwestern.edu or Nicolette Zielinski Mozny, n-zielinski-mozny@northwestern.edu.


Inhalation Anesthesia System Training

You must complete anesthetic machine training before you can reserve the machines. To sign up for this training, contact the Training Office at (312) 503-2758. If requesting through an email communication, please address to all Training Office team members: Tressa Hitchcock (t-hitchcock@northwestern.edu), Michael Ostrowskyj (m-ostrowskyj@northwestern.edu) and Andrew Feeney (andrew.feeney@northwestern.edu).

For a review of specifics regarding the three types of anesthesia systems available (COMPAC5, IMPAC6 or RC2), please refer to the Standard Operating Procedure for that particular model on our SOP page:

anesthesia system anesthesia system anesthesia system

 

VetEquip Inhalation Anesthesia Systems - COMPAC5 (Chicago Only)

VetEquip Inhalation Anesthesia Systems - IMPAC6 (Chicago and Evanston)

VetEquip Inhalation Anesthesia Systems - RC2 (Chicago and Evanston)


Inhalation Anesthesia System Reservations

Chicago

Reservations are completed using the VEMS on line system for the rodent anesthesia machines. If you do not have a username and password for VEMS, please send an email communication to the appropriate animal health technician in the area where you will be using the anesthetic machine.  For Rodent Barrier Areas, contact Annaliza Balaoing (a-balaoing@northwestern.edu).  For Conventional, Containment and X-ray Areas contact Katie Mahoney (k-mahoney@northwestern.edu).  

For all inquiries regarding anesthesia systems please email both area animal health technicians and cc: Telicia Moore (telicia.moore@northwestern.edu), CCM's Administrative Assistant.

Important: CCM will forward the request to the VEMS Administrator only after training on the anesthetic machine has been completed through the Training Office.

 

Evanston

Evanston reservations do not currently use the VEMS system. Contact Annaliza Balaoing (a-balaoing@northwestern.edu), Rebecca Erickson (rebecca.erickson@northwestern.edu) and Candice Dusset (candice.dusset@northwestern.edu) directly on all communications regarding anesthesia systems.

 

System Locations (Chicago)

Systems

Areas

Access Needed

IMMUNO – Blue – IMPAC6 *

Immuno Use Only

Immuno Facilities

Green – IMPAC6

Barrier

B-231

Orange – IMPAC6

Barrier

B-231

Red – IMPAC6

Barrier

B-231

Yellow – IMPAC6

Barrier

B-231

Purple – RC2

Conventional

SB-319

Pink – RC2

Conventional

Containment 2
SB-269, Gowning Area

Digital X-Ray – COMPAC5

Conventional

SB-303

Containment – IMPAC6 *

Containment

Containment 1
Gowning Area Closet

 

Requester should bring your WildCARD or ID to the Lurie main office room B-127 to receive a reservation access card.

For reservations scheduled during weekends or Holidays, research staff should obtain the appropriate access card between 12noon and 4pm the business day before your reservation.

For reservations scheduled after CCM business hours research staff should obtain the appropriate access card between 12noon and 4pm the business day of your reservation.

After CCM business hours access cards and keys should be returned to the census drop box.

*Please note that access to the IMMUNO/CONTAINMENT machines require a physical key, NOT an access card*

Veterinary Contacts:

 

 

Barrier/Immunodeficient Reservations:

Barrier/Immunodeficient Maintenance:

Primary

Annaliza Balaoing, x 3-1381

Tamara Cox, x 3-1258

Back-up

Katie Mahoney, x 3-4609

Katie Mahoney, x 3-4609

   

 

 

 

Conventional/Containment Reservations:

Conventional/Containment Maintenance:

Primary

Katie Mahoney, x 3-4609

Tamara Cox, x 3-1258

Back-up

Annaliza Balaoing, x 3-1381

Katie Mahoney, x 3-4609

  

Reserve a rodent anesthetic machine through FSM's VEMS

IMPORTANT: Reservation requests that are not entered at least two full business days in advance of use date requested will not be accepted into the system. Cancellations made less than 24 hours in advance will be charged for the time reserved. You may consult FY2017 CCM Service Charges (there is a link at the top of this page) for current fee structure and additional assessments.

Northwestern University   

Research Home  |  research@northwestern.edu

Office for Research - 633 Clark Street, Evanston, IL 60208-1108

The Office for Research promotes, facilitates, and enhances research at Northwestern University.

© 2016 Northwestern University

Northwestern Home | University Policy Statements